top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelaura

IMPORTANT UPDATE: NAME CHANGE!


Hello, all! I have a very important announcement to make!


If you've been following me for a while, Sketches By Laura has been a pretty consistent name for me for a good 3 or 4 years now. But I decided it was time for a change.


The reason for this change is because I have been wanting to try other hobbies besides just drawing, and having "sketches" in the name felt very limiting. I've made far too many attempts to create multiple brands for each hobby, and honestly it's exhausting haha. It's too difficult to keep up with everything and I eventually end up dropping one or two of the hobbies anyway.


Many prominent internet artists as of late have shifted to branding themselves over branding their art. This can be a slippery slope, as it can become difficult to separate personal life from public appearance, but I think if done right it can actually be quite helpful. It allows the artist to try lots of different things without necessarily deviating from their brand.


So, with that said, I have changed my name to Laurella Beth. This name comes from a combination of my first name and a variation of my middle name. It felt cooler than just "Laura", and I didn't want to include my last name all over social media. Now, with this new brand, I feel free to create more than just drawings. Lately I've been enjoying knitting & crocheting, wire working, jewelry making, vlogging, cosplay, and more! Because of the name change I feel like I can actually share all of those things on my social media without it seeming out of place.

I am already enjoying the benefits of this flexibility by sharing small bits of the jewelry I've made and cosplays I've tried, and it's fun getting to interact with followers on another level than just drawing!


I look forward to sharing more creations and activities with you all, and building new relationships with others in the creative community. I'm doing my best to not make the name change confusing by keeping "(formerly @sketchesbylaura)" on things for a few months. So far the name change hasn't negatively affected my Twitter or Instagram at all. I hope the name change will go into full effect soon!


Thank you for taking the time to read this, and I hope you have a great day!


~Laura ♥


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page